In Search of Balance

In today’s rush we all think too much – seek too much – want too much – and forget about the joy of just being.   Eckhart Tolle

Accepting that I can’t do everything that I want to do, at the moment that I think about doing it, is really hard for me.  Recently, a picture appeared on my facebook newspage with a caption that read “Keep Calm, and remember that you are Superwoman”.  I laughed out loud reading the caption because it was so relatable. I can’t remember directly calling myself a superwoman, but I’m pretty sure that I do expect myself to behave like one.

My image of superwoman is the female version of the superman character played by the late actor Christopher Reeve in the 1978 movie of Superman.  Superwoman is a leader, she serves others, and she saves the day of mortal human beings. 

An interesting aspect to Superman is that he isn’t always superman. He has an alter-ego that goes by the mild-mannered news office reporter, Clark Kent.  My superwoman doesn’t have an alter-ego; she doesn’t have a female version of Clark Kent.  And this is a gross oversight on my part.

The character of Clark Kent provides a balance for the Superman.  To be clear about what is meant by the word “balance” I turn to the online Merriam-Webster dictionary. According, balance can take one of the following meanings:

  1. An instrument for weighing.
  2. A means of judging or deciding.
  3. A counterbalancing weight, force, or influence.
  4. An oscillating wheel operating with a hairspring to regulate the movement of a timepiece.
  5. Equipoise between contrasting, opposing, or interacting elements.
  6. An aesthetically pleasing integration of elements.
  7. Physical equilibrium.
  8. A weight or force of one side in excess of another.
  9. Mental and emotional steadiness.

My best guess regarding Clark Kent/Superman balance is that each provides a mental and emotional steadiness that could not be achieved alone (definition #9).  My Superwoman needs a “Clark Kent”.  Does yours?

In what ways do you need to be balanced? Do you need to take care of yourself as well as others?  Do you need to play as well as work?  Do you need to rest as well as training hard? Do you need to be in the moment as well as concern yourself with the future? Do you need to spend time doing things that energize you as well as take energy from you?

This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

